Karaoke anyone?

I’ve mentioned before that I’m going to my first writer’s conference soon (one more week, YAY!!). The Silken Sands Conference is being held at the beach. Which means that I will be seen, in public, in a bathing suit. As if this is not enough to have a woman panicking, I will also be pitching to an editor and an agent. But this morning I received an email that makes all the other stuff seem like child’s play. There will be KARAOKE!!!

I have more than one reason to fear the stage:

  1. I can’t carry a tune in a bucket with a lid on it.
  2. This will be taking place in front of agents, editors, and authors.
  3. The ladies in the GCC are a little nutty (okay, they’re fun-loving, crazy chicas, which is why I love them), and I’m certain that if I do get the courage to get on that stage, there will be a video.

The list goes on, but you get the point. I will probably have an ulser by the time that I get home.

Then again, these are authors we are talking about, not professional singers. Maybe it will be fun. I know that I’ll enjoy watching the others getting up there and blowing off some steam (especially a certain one, I wonder if her cast will be off by then?).

Okay, it won’t be that bad (hopefully). I’ll watch them and by the end of the evening, I’ll be up there having a blast. If I make a fool out of myself, I’ll even post the video here.

Any suggestions on what song I should try to sing?

Published in: on March 11, 2010 at 3:20 AM  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/karaoke-anyone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hm, that’s a tricky question…if it were me, and I were suitably liquored up, I’d have to sing ‘What About Me?’. I have no idea who it’s by, but I’ve always been tempted to just belt it out when feeling frustrated. You know, “What about me, it isn’t fair, I’ve had enough, now I want my share, Can’t you see, I wanna live, but you take more than you give…” It’s my sister’s fault really. She gave me the image of sliding down the hall at work singing that. Okay, I’m rambling.

  2. LOL!! That’s a good one. I can see you doing that but what about something like “Paralyzer,” since you’re a fan of the rocker bands?

    PS: Those of you who don’t get this comment check out danicaavet’s blog http://danicaavet.wordpress.com/2010/03/03/becoming-that-person/ it’s too funny!

  3. If you’re gonna rock out, you have to rock out old skool. Joan Jett “Bad Reputation”! Or Heart. Heart is great. Like a little “Crazy on you” or “Magic Man”…

  4. If you are worried, you get a group together, share the mic, and do a song such as “It’s Raining Men” that everyone will sing along with.

    My personal theme song that I do at Karaoke is BITCH by Meredith Brooks… It fits. LOL.

    Cat

  5. Great ideas so far! (Might need a few drinks first). Keep them coming 🙂

  6. I’ve just moved to Tampa from Ohio. I didn’t know about that Chapter of RWA nor their conference. Thanks for passing along the info . . . and have a wonderful time!

    Best,
    Marsha

    • Marsha,

      It is an awesome group. They have been so very helpful. I am a newcomer to the writing industry and these women and man (can’t forget Don) have taught me so much.

      Thanks for the well-wishing.
      Tammy


Leave a Reply

