Spring Break: Scream or Pull My Hair Out?

My son has spring break this week. Yay?!? Don’t get me wrong, I love my child but….. I have had three major ideas come to me. Writing with a HYPER 12-year-old hanging on the back of your chair is not possible.

This is how my days have gone: I get up. Yay, no one is awake, that means I can get some writing done. I check my email first, respond to anything important. Pull up tweetdeck and check out everything I missed while I slept. Then open my WIP. As I skim the last paragraph that I wrote, I hear the squeak of a door. Crap! My hubby’s up. Okay, listen to him rant about politics, economy, whatever the issue of the day is, and try not to roll my eyes. Finally, he pauses and I turn back to the computer.

What comes next? He doesn’t talk to me, but he continues muttering about the issues. I roll my eyes, put my headphones on, and get back to work. NOTE: Do not wear headphones when you have a HYPER 12-year-old. He will jump on the back of your chair and scare the life out of you.

Okay, so now hubby and son are annoying me talking to me. I listen to them while my muse SCREAMS the next scene at me. NOTE: My muse is not the patient sort. She angers very easily. I do not want to face her wrath. I try to write while I listen to my hubby and son, and find myself typing what they are saying. (If you read my story and find my hero and heroine arguing about what kind of pickle is better, I apologize.)

Finally, my son goes to his room to play video games and hubs gets interested in the A-Team (nerd). I am engrossed in the current scene. Suddenly, my chair tips backward as my son asks what a word means. He had snuck up behind me and was reading over my shoulder. Not a good thing, seeing how the hero and heroine were in the throngs of passion. I scream at my son (I’m a bad mommy) which causes my hubby to fuss at my son about bothering me. Son runs to his room and slams the door.

Distractions abound and now I’m also being a bad mommy. I think I’ll take a break and watch a movie with the little turd to make it up to him. Can mommy have a vacation after he goes back to school?

Published in: on April 15, 2010 at 6:40 AM  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/spring-break-scream-or-pull-my-hair-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s one of the hardest parts of writing at home. At my house, it isn’t so much the family, but myself who distracts me. I think…oh wait, there was a book I wanted to re-read, or does the dog need a bath? Or God help me, if that cat doesn’t stop staring at me…

    I had the brilliant idea to spend one Saturday at a coffee shop to get some serious writing done. You wouldn’t believe how much I accomplished! Of course, I haven’t gone back since, but I keep planning to, lol.

    Don’t worry, mommy, Spring Break will be over and you’ll have your peace again. Soothe the muse with some chocolate

    • Danica,

      Thank you. You always brighten my day when I’m feeling a little down. You are awesome!

  2. Only a few more days, that will each feel like at least two. Hang in there. I raised my stepchildren from ages 7 & 9, full time. Now, every week I do my happy dance at least once, since this is the first year both are gone to college 1,700 miles away! There is a reward at the end! 🙂

    • Thanks, Marsha. If I don’t kill him by then, I’ll be happy.

  3. Haha yeah earbuds are a negative thing when your son likes to sneak up on people 😀

    • Yeah, you know how he is. He likes annoying you too. That’s why we send him to your house. 🙂


Leave a Reply

