In Memory of Sunny

Yesterday morning my fur-baby Sunny passed away. To make matters worse, it happened on my 12 year-old son’s bed while he was getting ready for school.

My baby (I know he’s not a baby, but he’s MY baby) tried to put on a brave front, but his voice kept cracking and he had tears in his eyes. As he collected his things for school, he took a deep breath and said, “I want to make a cat room in my house in memory of Sunny.” The house that he’s talking about is a school project that he is doing with another boy for math class. He knows that it could cause him to be the object of scorn but his tender heart wants to do something to honor the memory of his friend, Sunny.

I don’t know if the other child will agree to this or not, but I am so proud of him for not hiding his feelings. Too many boys don’t have the courage to show any emotion. If he can love a cat this much, I can just imagine how lucky the girl he gives his heart to will be!

Published in: on May 4, 2010 at 7:00 AM  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/in-memory-of-sunny/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awww. I’m so sorry. Losing a pet is hard. They’re a part of your family. *hugs*

  2. Aw, I’m sorry. For both you and your boy. My childhood cat died when I was in college and I cried like a baby.

  3. Aw, Tammy, I’m so sorry for your family. It’s hard to lose a beloved pet. I lost a cat last year and I was…well, I’ll just say that I was so inconsolable I had to leave work. I know exactly how that is and I admire your son for wanting to honor Sunny’s memory. *big hug*

  4. What a sweet boy you have. And he is lucky to have a mother who encourages him to express his feelings. 🙂

  5. Thank you all. It’s been a rough couple of days but I think we’re over the worst of it.

    PS: Thanks Linda for the mom comment. Like all moms, sometimes I wonder if I’m doing a good job until he does something like this and I burst with pride. 🙂


Leave a Reply

