Regrets

I’ve been thinking a lot lately. Normally this is a good thing, but not this time. My failures are what I’ve been thinking about. I don’t know if it was brought on by graduation or something that I’ve read or just a random memory.

Everyone has regrets. It’s a part of living and learning. The problem is when you allow your past regrets and failures to effect your future. Wallowing in the self-doubt that comes from being too focused on the mistakes that you’ve made is never helpful.

I have let this go on long enough. My little pity party that I’ve been throwing is now ending. The decisions that I made in the past, whether good or bad, have made me who I am today. I have a wonderful family, I’m doing something that I love, and my goals are within reach. That is what matters. The future.

Published in: on May 18, 2010 at 7:00 AM  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/05/18/regrets/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been in a slump, too. It’s really hard to focus on positive sometimes. REALLY hard.

    • I knew you would understand. Having people like you makes it a little easier. Thanks.

  2. Everyone regrets something, but you’re right, what you’ve done in the past has shaped you into the person you are now. You can’t really regret that, you know? It would be like regretting that the sun shone and made the flowers grow. It’s necessary to make mistakes, not only to learn from them, but to know when things could be worse. That’s something I had to learn the hard way.

    • Don’t you hate that we have to learn the hard way.

  3. You can’t drive a car by looking only in the rear view mirror, life is much the same.
    Best of luck.

  4. But if we didn’t have a few grey clouds then we could never really appreciate the rainbows that come afterwards. The past is just that “the past”. You can just look around and be thankful of the blessing and joys that you have in your life TODAY!! That’s what our God can do!!! ❤ 🙂


Leave a Reply

