Writing While Waiting

My MS, Impending Reveries, is out on submission (which is great), but I’ve been tempted to stop writing until I hear back from them.

On one hand, I know that if I get a contract for it, I’ll have to drop everything and start edits to get it ready for publication. So I think, why work on something new when I’ll just have to put it aside?

On the other hand, I NEED to write. It’s like a compulsion. The stories scream at me, wanting to break free of my mind and be put onto paper. They won’t leave me alone.

So, I will write while I wait and HOPE that I get interrupted.

What about you? Do you put everything on hold when you’re waiting for the call? Or do you plunge in to a new story?

Published in: on May 27, 2010 at 8:00 AM  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/writing-while-waiting/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have compulsions to write that I just can’t fight, especially since I’ve decided to write “seriously” (I always put that in quotations because it’s not serious, so much as fun). When I finished my first MS and sent it out, I was already writing my second MS and finished it up for FF&P’s 60 Days to PRO. After that was NaNo and I started my 3rd for that. There was about a three month gap between the 3rd book and the next, but in all that time I didn’t stop writing even if I deleted whatever I wrote because it sucked monkey toes.

    Sometimes writing while you’re waiting to hear back is the only thing that’ll keep you sane and it always sounds GREAT to whoever calls you if you can say “Well I’m editing my next one” that way they know you’re not just a fly-by-night writer, but someone who seriously produces.

    Now I’ll put my wordiness to work and write my blog, lol

    • “Sometimes writing while you’re waiting to hear back is the only thing that’ll keep you sane”
      Wait, we’re supposed to stay “sane” uh-oh, I’ve already failed then. 🙂

  2. Plunge. Totally. Otherwise the wait is unbearable. 🙂

    • Yep, I think if I didn’t do something with my time, I’d be even crazier than usual.

  3. Hi Tammy
    How lovely to find your blog.
    I know exactly what you mean about the compulsion to write. When the images come into my head, it’s like watching a movie and i have to write it while I see it, feel it, taste it and hear it.

    I’ve written a YA fantasy series and when I finished the first one and sent it out, I stopped writing the rest of the series. Definitely a pause. I’d done the 2nd draft of the 3 sequels, but I figured I should wait until I got the first one published before doing any more.

    In that gap, I wrote some short stories. Why? They just popped into my head and I had to write them down. I also began on my blog. Like yours, it’s about my journey to find a publisher. I’ve subscribed here so I can keep up with your journey. If you’re interested it’s http/:publishersearch.wordpress.com

    I don’t think I’ll ever be able to actually stop writing completely now.


Leave a Reply

