Not so Happy with the Happily Ever After

Have you ever read a book where you wanted the heroine to end up with the bad guy? That was me this past weekend.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved the heroine. It was her relationship with the hero that I had issues with.

The hero thought she was a 15 yo boy when they first met, but through many twists and turns she turned out to be the model that he had drooled over for years. That still wasn’t what I had a problem with.

What I DID have a problem with was, the hero was booooring. I just couldn’t like him. The heroine had a lively sense of adventure but the hero was a dullard. (I know, this happens in real life all the time but I don’t like it in romance novels.)

By the end of the book, I was wanting the serial killer to get rid of the hero and run away with the heroine (which was what he wanted also).

It was a frustrating book. I know that as writers, we need to make the reader like/feel sorry for the bad guy, but to make him more likable than the hero is not a good thing.

Have you ever liked the villan more than the main character?

Published in: on June 14, 2010 at 8:00 AM  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/not-so-happy-with-the-happily-ever-after/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My first manuscript, I actually liked the villain more than the hero. He was funny, a bit out there, and bad. But I ended up giving him his own book eventually. When it comes to books I’ve read…hell yeah, I’ve wanted the villain to run away with the heroine a time or fifty…it’s the bad boy syndrome. Gets me every time.

    • I’m with you. I LOOOOOVE the bad boy!!!!

  2. The first story I wrote I was routing for her male friend. He was not the intended romantic hero, but the more I wrote him the more I realized that he needed to be the romantic hero, so I did some fine tuning and the friend one his girl in the end.

    I think sometimes we have to listen to the characters in our head and respond accordingly.


Leave a Reply

