Getting Lucky

To some people, luck is a four-letter word. They don’t believe in it. Call it what you will, we have all had those moments that something goes so right that it’s hard to explain. Like this:

Mind you, most people do not experience a moment where they get quite THAT lucky, but we get lucky just the same.

Writers are in a constant state of “I want to get lucky!” Write THE story, get the call from an agent, sign a book deal, have the world talking about your book, meet Oprah, etc. When one of us gets lucky, the rest of us are like a group of teenage boys, slapping each other on the back in congratulations while secretly thinking, “Why can’t it be me?”

Don’t get me wrong, I really am happy for my fellow writers, I just wish it was me TOO. It’s normally a LOOOONG road to publication and there are times that it would be easier to just give up.

I won’t do that, though, because one day it will be me that is bragging to everyone that I see:

“I just got LUCKY!!!!!”

Published in: on June 16, 2010 at 8:00 AM  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/getting-lucky/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m glad you wrote this — last night I was having the pity party and wondering why I keep writing. It is always helpful to remember that everyone is (or has been) in the same place. So I will get up, put my butt in my chair, and keep on writing.

    Love ya, Chica!!!

  2. OMG I about had a heart attack!!! I know what you mean. As happy as I am for friends, I’m ready for my time.

  3. Yup, just keep remembering, the journey is different for everyone and that’s what makes us all special…not special in a ‘parents were related’ kind of way, but special because we all bring something new to the table. I’m tempted to quote from Rocky Horror now:
    “He’s lucky, you’re lucky, we’re all lucky!” *evil cackle*

  4. Luck in this business is being in the right place at the right time with the right product meeting the right agent/publisher.

    Richard Harland an Aussie YA fantasy writer told me, ‘Don’t get disappointed when you discover you’re not the next JK Rowling, don’t even expect to be. Just keep at it, keep writing. It takes time to build up your skills and reputation, but hard work will pay off over time.’

    His 5th novel was the first one that gave him enough money to quit his job. I think 3 of them had been published.


Leave a Reply

