Sarcasm in Text

Texting can save time. Instead of spending time with small talk, a text gets straight to the point. Sarcasm, however, does not come through the same way.

I learned my lesson recently when a friend texted me asking if I would do her a favor. Now this friend knows me well enough to know that I don’t mind helping people, but I have my limits. She should have known what she was asking was not something I would agree to. (Don’t worry, it’s nothing illegal. It’s just something I HATE to do!)

I responded to her text: Sure, I’d love to do that! I rolled my eyes as I sent the text, being my sarcastic self. She responded with: Thanks, I really appreciate it!

What could I do? She didn’t catch my sarcasm and she’s so sweet, I didn’t want to take it back. So, I ended up doing one of my least favorite things in the world.

Oh well, chalk it up to a lesson learned. Now I’ll be more careful with my sarcasm.

Tell me, has your sarcasm gotten you into trouble lately?

Published in: on June 21, 2010 at 8:13 AM  Comments (4)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/sarcasm-in-text/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What the world needs is a good sarcasm emoticon. 🙂

  2. Sarcasm in text is very difficult. I’ve been working on it for a while now, but the only way it works is if you’re a complete and utter ass with it, then it just comes across as mean and unless the person you’re being sarcastic to knows you very well, they’ll cry. Or never speak to you again. Not that either of those things has happened to me. Often.

  3. ALL THE TIME! I’m always sarcastic but some take offense not being able to hear my voice.

  4. Linda, exactly!! It would make my life so much easier!

    Danica, YOU make people cry?!? I don’t believe it! (btw, did you catch the sarcasm there? LOL)

    Candyland, I love your sarcasm. It comes through pretty clear on your blog. 😉


Leave a Reply

