At Long Last … Silence

They say silence is golden and as a mom who works from home, I have to agree. Summer is a strain on not only my work but my patience. Don’t get me wrong, I love my son. I enjoy spending time with him. But when I’m in the middle of writing, his constant interruptions are trying, to say the least.

Here’s how it happens:

She was lost in his deep brown eyes, filled with passion. His lips moved closer and closer…. “MOM! Can I have some chips?”

AAAAARGGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The love scene was put on hold and the mood was lost.

I can’t tell you how many times this happened over the summer. But today is the day I have looked forward to for months, the first day of school! I dropped him off and found what all parents crave. Silence.

So, now that I’m back to sanity, how was your summer?

Published in: on August 9, 2010 at 9:56 AM  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tammygallant.wordpress.com/2010/08/09/at-long-last-silence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a coincidence – Danica and I were just discussing the same thing over on her blog. Love the daughters to death, but they stifle the muse without a thought.
    Glad to hear from you again, chica – been worried about ya!

  2. Hot…summer was hot and distracting, and not in the good way either. Now, if there had been shirtless men with sweat rolling down their washboard abs as they oh so politely knocked on my door to beg for a glass of iced tea, that would’ve been different. Instead, I get broken lawnmowers, visiting family, and pets who seem to think me sitting down to write is the perfect time for me to pet them!

    Glad you’re back and hope you can get back in the swing of things!

  3. Romancemomma, don’t you just want to ring their sweet little necks?

    Danica, you poor thing! I hope things get better soon!

  4. Good to hear from you again Tammy. My daughter is now 17, but it’s still easier to write when she’s at school.

    As for what I’ve been doing. Down under it’s been cold and today I’m in bed with a lurgy ( Ausy for unspecified virus/cold/flu)

    I’d love an eternal summer. Enjoy yours while it lasts.


Leave a Reply

